DESTINY®

DESTINY® – DatabasE-assiSted Therapy decIsioN support sYstem

NTD and NTC GmbH work together on linking medical, content and patient-oriented aspects, offering physicians and patients an integrated system that promotes networking and communication between physician and patient on the same level, involving the patient actively in the treatment process (DESTINY®).

DESTINY® helps to achieve a significant improvement and acceleration of treatment outcomes and optimises adherence and compliance. In turn, this can lead to significant cost reductions (fewer hospital admissions, physician visits and days of incapacity for work, lower medicine costs). Scientific knowledge is also acquired, enabling a better understanding of the disease and its effects. DESTINY® is also transferable to other indications.

DESTINY® has already received multiple national and international awards as an innovative platform for personalised healthcare:

  • CQ5 Global Awards 2019- Germany, healthtech company of the year
  • GHP- healthcare&pharmaceutical awards 2019
  • German Medical Award 2019
  • German Prize for Excellency 2018, 1st place, “Health” category
  • Bavarian Innovation Prize Health Telematics (BIG) 2018, 1st place
  • Stevie Award – International Business Award 2018, 1st place, “Health & Medical Information Solution”

NTD database

The core of DESTINY® is the web-based NTD registry database, which has received pseudonymised patient data in relation to diagnosis, treatment and quality of life, side effects and reasons for changes in treatment since 2008. This database was developed in conjunction with Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich and was inspected and approved by the Ethics Committee of the Bavarian State Chamber of Physicians in 2012. This approval was re-confirmed by the Ethics Committee of the North-Rhine State Chamber of Physicians in 2017.

Web-based since 2013, the registry database is a modular system containing basic documentation and a multitude of specialist modules (healthcare module, register module, study module, patient module, administration module etc.). All data collected is taken systematically at each participating practice and saved to the database. Statutory data protection requirements, in particular the German Federal Data Protection Act (BDSG) and the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), are ensured through an appropriate consent and encryption process. The healthcare and register modules have standard disease-specific basic documentation, whereas additional assessments for partial database collections are mapped in the study module. For the purposes of standardisation, medications are recorded according to current ATC (Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical) classification and diagnoses according to the current version of ICD (International Classification of Diseases). For the purposes of treatment monitoring and support, disease progression and treatment procedures are shown as a graphic display for each individual patient. The administration module manages system users, practice master data, studies and metadata. The patient module allows for active inclusion of patients in the treatment process via electronic surveys.

The appropriate technical and organisational measures are taken to ensure confidentiality, integrity, availability, authenticity, reviewability and transparency with regard to the registry database. For the purposes of data quality control, practice-oriented protocols and queries are displayed on the online registry database and processed by the practices.

The registry database is updated continuously, being adapted and expanded to meet clinical practice requirements. Due to its modular construction, the system can easily be extended to cover other indications and areas of application.

The following indications are currently available on the NTD database:

  • Dementia
  • Depression
  • Epilepsy
  • Migraine
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s and motor disorders
  • Schizophrenia and Bipolar disorders

The modular nature of the registry database means that further indications from the fields of neurology and psychiatry may be added at any time.

PHREND

The predictive module PHREND makes it possible to locate the most suitable MS medication for an individual patient and predict disease progression under a specific treatment. Working with an experienced team of mathematicians and statisticians from PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) AG, Switzerland, a special algorithm was developed that can use past data from the NTD database to calculate how, in all likelihood, the disease will develop in a specific patient under the influence of various treatments.

To obtain this type of prognosis, the physician first enters the patient data, such as gender, month and year of birth, date of MS diagnosis, current treatment, any previous treatments, current EDSS value, date of the last relapse and the number of relapses in the previous twelve months. The software uses the data to create a graphic, showing the degree of probability of the patient remaining relapse- and progression-free under a certain medication for a set period of two to four years. Physician and patient therefore receive an independent qualified second opinion that they can discuss together.

In addition to the clinical data, important factors and preferences for the individual patient are taken into consideration in the treatment decision-making process:

  • Pregnancy/childbearing preferences
  • Application type
  • Risk of side effects (to be expected)
  • Frequency of control tests (e.g. laboratory tests)

Ideally, there will be up to two or three treatment options left, from which doctor and patient can choose a medication together. The physician also has the option of printing out the result or emailing it to the patient so that they can think about again quietly at home.

This makes the patient more strongly and actively involved in the treatment of their illness. This not only improves the relationship between physician and patient, but will also have an impact on the success of the chosen treatment. Adherence to treatment is increased on the one hand. On the other hand, it is a sure and certain thing that a medication works even better the more convinced the patient taking it is of that medication.

Find out more »

 

The pioneering PHREND concept has already received multiple national and international awards:

  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2019: Business Silver
  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2019: Innovation Silver
  • PwC Global Innovation Challenge 2019, 1st place
  • PwC Europe Innovation Challenge 2019, 1st place
  • Business Week's Best of Consulting Award 2019 Special Category „Artificial Intelligence“: „Blue Chip Award“

My Ntc Health Guide Patient Portal (powered by Vitabook)

The My NTC Health Guide patient portal (powered by vitabook) is another important DESTINY® module that substantially helps to increase adherence to treatment. Insufficient adherence to treatment is one of the biggest dangers to effective treatment. Studies on MS treatment show that only 50 to 60 % of patients use the prescribed medications in accordance with the physician’s instructions.

There are many reasons for this lack of adherence. They are often related to the patient‘s personal circumstances. But communication with the treating physician has a major part to play. Physician and patient usually only see each other for planned treatment appointments. The physician is unaware of how the patient is living with the disease in between times. This is where the My NTC Health Guide (powered by vitabook) portal comes in:

Patients can use their data to follow the course of their disease in the form of a graphic. They can also enter data for themselves via this portal (e.g. results from their family physician). For the first time, the individual patient has an overview of the overall treatment process. They have the same information as the physician and, like them, they can add new diagnosis-related information. Treatment results are shown clearly as graphics.

The application also keeps the patient in contact with their treating physician outside consultation hours. An editorial team from the physician network also regularly posts new developments, treatment options and research results on the patient portal in the form of brief articles in laymen’s terms, keeping the patient constantly up to date with new information. This gives the patient a much stronger role – moving from a simple “information recipient” to a “contributor”.

The electronic headache diary has been a major component since the migraine indication was introduced, showing data entered graphically in the different dimensions for both patient and physician.

The “treatment configurator“ is another central component: by coupling it with the NTD database, it is possible to send patients customised information about their illness, an individual treatment plan and a medication regime. Times for taking medication, necessary follow-up exams and physician appointments are also transferred to the patient’s profile automatically. This ensures treatment in line with the guidelines in a verifiable and traceable way and encourages the patient to adhere to treatment. Feedback to the physician on patient activity gives them a permanent understanding of how the treatment regime is being adhered to and how the patients is developing.

Find out more »

Elispot biomarker test

The ELISPOT laboratory test differentiates whether an MS patient will respond better to treatment with interferon than treatment with the active substance glatiramer acetate (GA). The test was applied over 2 years at NTD practices as part of a validation study. The results are now being analysed.

If the evaluation shows positive results, the plan is to extend the test procedure to other B-cell mediated treatments. This would identify a suitable biomarker that can be assessed before a medication is administered to establish which treatment the patient responds to best.

Interaction Check – Powered by Pgxperts®

The “PGXperts® InteraktionsCheck" module from HMG Systems Engineering GmbH tells the physician whether a scheduled medication interacts with other medicines that the patient is taking. Within seconds, information is identified relating to interactions between medicines, active substances, food, lifestyle and genetic variations. The clear representation of genetically determined interaction risks quickly identifies patients who could benefit from a pharmacogenetic examination. This type of examination can be carried out under the collaboration between HMG Systems Engineering GmbH and the Institute for Human Genetics of the University Clinic Bonn. PGXperts® InteraktionsCheck helps physicians to optimise patient medication accurately, safely and efficiently.

Pharmacovigilance Module

When medications are adjusted and discontinued, reasons for discontinuation and adverse events are recorded in the database as standard. Until recently, the pharmacovigilance module has only been used in studies, but it has now been used in routine practice since March 2018. Where adverse events occur, they are recorded in a standardised, electronic report following the requirements of the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM). Entries are stored centrally, followed up and emailed to the competent authorities. The standardised recording of adverse events in everyday practice is a major factor for making treatment even safer, identifying side effects earlier and making outpatient healthcare data more valid and meaningful.

DESTINY

DESTINY – DatabasE-assiSted Therapy decIsioN support sYstem

NTD und NTC GmbH arbeiten gemeinsam an der Verknüpfung medizinischer, inhaltlicher und patientenorientierter Aspekte, um den Patienten und Ärzten ein ganzheitliches System bieten zu können, welches die Vernetzung und Kommunikation zwischen Arzt und Patient fördert und den Patient auf Augenhöhe mit dem Arzt aktiv in den Behandlungsprozess einbindet (DESTINY®).

Mit DESTINY® können eine signifikante Steigerung und Beschleunigung des Behandlungserfolgs sowie die Verbesserung der Adhärenz und Compliance erzielt werden. Dies kann wiederum zu signifikanten Kostensenkungen führen (Reduktion von Krankenhauseinweisungen, Arztbesuchen und Arbeitsunfähigkeitstagen (AU-Tage), Senkung der Arzneimittelkosten). Zudem werden wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse gewonnen, die ein besseres Verständnis der Erkrankung und ihrer Auswirkungen ermöglichen. DESTINY® ist darüber hinaus auch auf andere Krankheitsbereiche übertragbar.

DESTINY wurde bereits mehrfach als innovative Plattform für personalisierte Medizin mit nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet:

  • Deutscher Exzellenzpreis 2018, 1. Platz Kategorie „Gesundheit“
  • Bayerischer Innovationspreis Gesundheitstelematik (BIG) 2018, 1. Platz
  • Stevie Award – International Business Award 2018, 1. Platz “Health & Medical Information Solution”

NTD-Registerdatenbank

Herzstück von DESTINY ist die webbasierte NTD-Registerdatenbank, in die seit dem Jahr 2008 pseudonymisierte Patientendaten u.a. zur Diagnostik, Therapie und Lebensqualität sowie zu Nebenwirkungen und Gründen für einen Therapiewechsel einfließen. Die Datenbank wurde zusammen mit der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München entwickelt und 2012 von der Ethikkommission der Bayerischen Landesärztekammer geprüft und positiv votiert. Diese Einschätzung wurde im Jahre 2017 von der Ethikkommission der Ärztekammer Nordrhein erneut bestätigt.

Das datenbankgestützte und seit 2013 webbasierte Register ist ein modulares System, das eine Basisdokumentation und eine Vielzahl von fachspezifischen Modulen (Versorgungsmodul, Registermodul, Studienmodul, Patientenmodul, Administrationsmodul) beinhaltet. Sämtliche erhobenen Daten werden systematisch in jeder teilnehmenden Praxis gewonnen und in der Datenbank gespeichert. Die gesetzlichen Vorgaben des Datenschutzes, insbesondere BDSG und EU-DSGVO, werden durch ein geeignetes Einwilligungs- und Verschlüsselungsverfahren gewährleistet. Versorgungsmodul und Registermodul verfügen über eine einheitliche, krankheitsspezifisch definierte Basisdokumentation, während im Studienmodul zusätzliche Erhebungen für Register-Teilkollektive abgebildet werden. Aus Standardisierungsgründen werden Medikamente nach der jeweils gültigen ATC-Klassifikation sowie die Diagnosen nach der aktuellen Fassung der ICD-10 dokumentiert. Zur Therapieverlaufskontrolle und als Behandlungsunterstützung werden Krankheits- und Behandlungsverlauf patientenbezogen graphisch dargestellt. Im Administrationsmodul werden Systemnutzer, Stammdaten der Praxen, sowie Studien und Metadaten verwaltet. Das Patientenmodul ermöglicht eine aktive Einbindung der Patienten in den Behandlungsprozess durch elektronische Fragebögen.

Vertraulichkeit, Integrität, Verfügbarkeit, Authentizität, Revisionsfähigkeit und Transparenz des Registers werden über angemessene technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen sichergestellt. Zur Datenqualitätskontrolle werden praxisbezogene Protokolle und Querys im Online-Register angezeigt und von den Praxen bearbeitet.

Das Register wird kontinuierlich gepflegt und an die Bedürfnisse der klinischen Praxis angepasst und erweitert. Durch den modularen Aufbau kann das System problemlos auf andere Indikations- und Anwendungsbereiche erweitert werden.

Derzeit sind in der NTD-Registerdatenbank folgende Indikationen verfügbar:

  • Bipolare Störungen
  • Demenz
  • Epilepsie
  • Migräne
  • Multiple Sklerose
  • Parkinson und Bewegungsstörungen
  • Schizophrenie

Die Erweiterung auf zusätzliche Indikationen aus dem neurologischen und psychiatrischen Bereich ist aufgrund des modularen Aufbaus der Datenbank jederzeit möglich.

PHREND

Mithilfe des prädiktiven Moduls PHREND gelingt es, das individuell am besten geeignete MS-Medikament für den Patienten zu finden und den Krankheitsverlauf unter einer bestimmten Therapie vorherzusagen. Gemeinsam mit einem versierten Team aus Mathematikern und Statistikern der PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) AG, Schweiz, wurde ein spezieller Algorithmus entwickelt, der auf Basis der Vergangenheitsdaten in der NTD-Datenbank berechnen kann, wie sich die Krankheit eines bestimmten Patienten unter dem Einfluss verschiedener Therapien aller Voraussicht nach entwickeln wird.

Um eine solche Prognose zu erhalten, gibt der Arzt zunächst einige Daten des Patienten ein, etwa das Geschlecht, das Geburtsdatum mit Monat und Jahr, den Zeitpunkt der MS-Diagnose, die aktuelle Therapie, eventuelle Vortherapien, den aktuellen EDSS-Wert, den Zeitpunkt des letzten Schubs und die Anzahl der Schübe in den vergangenen zwölf Monaten. Anhand dieser Daten erstellt die Software eine Grafik, aus der ersichtlich wird, wie hoch die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist, dass der Patient in einem definierten Zeitraum von zwei bis vier Jahren unter einem bestimmten Medikament schub- und progressionsfrei bleibt. Arzt und Patient erhalten auf diese Weise eine unabhängige und qualifizierte Zweitmeinung, die sie gemeinsam diskutieren können.

Neben den klinischen Daten werden im Therapieentscheidungsprozess auch individuell für den Patienten wichtige Faktoren und Präferenzen berücksichtigt, u.a.:

  • Schwangerschaft/Kinderwunsch
  • Applikationsart
  • Risiko für Nebenwirkungen (zu erwartende)
  • Häufigkeit der Kontrolluntersuchungen (z.B. Laborkontrollen)

Im Idealfall bleiben so maximal zwei oder drei Therapievorschläge übrig, aus denen Arzt und Patient gemeinsam ein Medikament auswählen können. Zusätzlich hat der Arzt die Möglichkeit, das Ergebnis auszudrucken oder es dem Patienten elektronisch zu übermitteln, sodass dieser es zu Hause noch einmal in Ruhe überdenken kann.

Auf diese Weise wird der Patient stärker und aktiver als bisher in die Behandlung seiner Krankheit mit eingebunden. Das verbessert nicht nur die Beziehung zwischen Arzt und Patient, sondern wird sich auch auf den Erfolg der gewählten Therapie auswirken. Zum einen steigt die Therapietreue. Und zum anderen gilt es als gesichert, dass ein Medikament umso besser wirkt, je überzeugter der Patient, der es einnimmt, von diesem Mittel ist.

Erfahren Sie mehr »

 

Das wegweisende Konzept von PHREND wurde national und international bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet:

  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2019: Business Silver
  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2019: Innovation Silver
  • PwC Global Innovation Challenge 2019, 1. Platz
  • PwC Europe Innovation Challenge 2019, 1. Platz

Patientenportal My NTC Health Guide (powered by vitabook)

Ein weiteres wichtiges Modul in DESTINY®, welches substantiell zur Steigerung der Therapietreue beiträgt, ist das Patientenportal „My NTC Health Guide“ (powered by vitabook). Mangelnde Therapietreue ist eine der größten Gefahren für die effektive Durchführung der Behandlung. Studien zur MS-Therapie belegen, dass nur 50 bis 60 Prozent der Erkrankten die verordnete Medikation gemäß der ärztlichen Vorgabe anwenden.

Die Gründe für diese mangelnde Adhärenz sind vielfältig. Sie haben oft mit der persönlichen Lebenssituation des Patienten zu tun. Aber auch die Kommunikation mit dem behandelnden Arzt spielt eine große Rolle. Arzt und Patient sehen sich in der Regel nur zu den geplanten Behandlungsterminen. Wie der Patient in der Zwischenzeit mit seiner Krankheit lebt, bleibt dem Mediziner verschlossen. Dies ist der Ansatzpunkt des Patientenportals „My NTC Health Guide“ (powered by vitabook):

Die Betroffenen können dort unter anderem anhand ihrer Daten den eigenen Krankheitsverlauf grafisch nachverfolgen. Zusätzlich können sie über dieses Portal auch selbst Daten eingeben (z.B. Befunde von ihrem Hausarzt). Jeder Patient erhält damit erstmals den Überblick über seinen gesamten Therapieverlauf. Er hat die gleichen Informationen wie der Arzt und kann wie dieser neue, diagnosebezogene Informationen hinzufügen. Behandlungsergebnisse werden anschaulich in Grafiken dargestellt.

Über die Anwendung ist der Patient auch außerhalb der Sprechstunde in Kontakt mit seinem behandelnden Arzt. Zusätzlich werden neue Entwicklungen, Therapieoptionen und Forschungsergebnisse in kurzen, laienverständlichen Artikeln regelmäßig von einem Redaktionsteam des Ärztenetzwerkes im Patientenportal eingestellt, sodass der Patient kontinuierlich über Neuerungen informiert ist. So wird die Rolle des Patienten maßgeblich gestärkt – weg vom bloßen „Informationsempfänger“ zum „Mitgestalter“.

Seit Etablierung der Indikation Migräne ist ein wesentlicher Baustein das elektronische Kopfschmerztagebuch, welches die eingetragenen Daten bidirektional für Patient und Arzt graphisch in den verschiedenen Dimensionen darstellt.

Ein weiterer zentraler Baustein ist der „Therapiekonfigurator“: Über die Kopplung mit der NTD-Datenbank ist es möglich, dem Patienten passgenaue Informationen zu seiner Erkrankung, einen individuellen Therapieplan sowie Medikationsschema zu übermitteln. Die Einnahme-Zeitpunkte, notwendige Folgeuntersuchungen und Arztbesuche werden so automatisch in das Profil des Patienten übertragen. Auf diese Weise wird die leitliniengerechte Behandlung überprüfbar und nachvollziehbar sichergestellt sowie die Therapietreue des Patienten gefördert. Über die Rückkopplung der Patientenaktivität an den Arzt hat dieser permanente Einsicht in die Einhaltung des Therapieschemas und die Entwicklung des Patienten.

Erfahren Sie mehr »

ELISPOT Biomarker-Test

Der Labortest ELISPOT differenziert, ob ein MS-Patient eher auf eine Interferontherapie oder auf eine Behandlung mit dem Wirkstoff Glatirameracetat (GA) ansprechen wird. Der Test wurde über 2 Jahre in den NTD-Praxen im Rahmen einer Validierungsstudie angewandt. Aktuell werden die Ergebnisse analysiert.

Sollte die Auswertung positive Ergebnisse zeigen, ist geplant, das Testverfahren auf weitere B-Zellen-vermittelte Therapien auszuweiten. Somit wäre ein geeigneter Biomarker gefunden, mit dem bereits vor der Gabe eines Medikaments beurteilt werden kann, auf welche Therapie der Patient am besten ansprechen wird.

Interaktions-Check – powered bei PGXperts®

DESTINY® soll im Laufe dieses Jahres um das Modul „PGXperts® InteraktionsCheck" der HMG Systems Engineering GmbH erweitert werden. Dieses Werkzeug zeigt dem Arzt, ob eine geplante Medikation mit anderen Arzneien, die der Patient einnimmt, in Wechselwirkung tritt. Innerhalb von Sekunden werden Informationen zu Wechselwirkungen zwischen Arzneimitteln, Wirkstoffen, Lebensmitteln und Lebensgewohnheiten sowie genetischen Variationen identifiziert.

Die übersichtliche Darstellung von genetisch bedingten Interaktionsrisiken erlaubt eine schnelle Identifizierung der Patienten, die von einer pharmakogenetischen Untersuchung profitieren könnten.

Eine solche Untersuchung kann im Zuge der Kooperation von HMG Systems Engineering GmbH mit dem Institut für Humangenetik des Universitätsklinikums Bonn durchgeführt werden. PGXperts® InteraktionsCheck unterstützt Ärzte dabei, die Medikation ihrer Patienten präzise, sicher und effizient zu optimieren.

Pharmakovigilanz-Modul

Bei Umstellungen und Abbrüchen von Medikamenten werden in der Datenbank regelhaft die Abbruchgründe sowie unerwünschte Ereignisse standardisiert erfasst. Bis vor Kurzem ist das Pharmakovigilanz-Modul nur in Studien angewandt worden. Seit März 2018 wird es auch routinemäßig im Praxisalltag verwendet. Bei Auftreten von unerwünschten Ereignissen werden diese über einen standardisierten, elektronischen Meldebogen erfasst, der den Vorgaben des Bundesinstituts für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte (BfArM) folgt. Die Eingaben werden zentral gespeichert, nachverfolgt und elektronisch an die zuständigen Behörden übermittelt. Die standardisierte Erfassung unerwünschter Ereignisse im Praxisalltag ist ein wichtiger Baustein, um Therapien noch sicherer zu machen, Nebenwirkungen frühzeitig zu erkennen und Daten aus der ambulanten Versorgung noch valider und aussagekräftiger zu machen.